“Can’t get the stuff”

working with Iris

working with Iris

(A few awkward moments in the life of a Prop Buyer)

“Can’t get the stuff”…
that’s what he said
and I thought it was funny,
but he wasn’t joking.

“I am not surprised…”
I said
“4 red hens, 3 speckled hens and
a dove in an olive tree
on a Sunday afternoon
in Wimbledon Village
?”
nobody’s laughing now.

Then, she said it…
IRIS: “Can’t get the stuff?”
and smiled.
IRIS: “Who the hell do you think you are?
Boris Becker!”
“That’s a bit harsh” I said.

IRIS: “Say it with conviction”.

“I said I can’t get the stuff” he said
Game Set Match (to Iris)
as she picked up the phone and called Jon

IRIS: “Hi Hon I need
4 red hens,
3 speckled hens and
a dove in an olive tree by 4 o’clock
SW19 4PR, great thanks
Can you pick up a cappuccino, a double espresso and
donuts for Mr. Can’t-get-the-stuff on the way?
Jon thank you”.

I suddenly realised, it was a set-up!
Jon had got it all figured out a week ago, all he had to do was drop by Starbucks on his way over!
But sometimes, just sometimes you need to put people’s EGO’s in checkmate 😉

